expected to operate motor vehicles with a minimum of liability insurance.
Minimum liability amounts required in New Mexico are:
Vehicles that do not have the minimum liability insurance are
subject to having their vehicle registration suspended. Effective October 9,
2002 registration of your vehicle(s) may be denied or delayed until insurance
- twenty five thousand ($25,000) because of bodily injury or
death to one person in any accident;
- subject to this limit for one person, fifty thousand dollars
($50,000) because of bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in one
- ten thousand dollars ($10,000) because of injury to or
destruction of property of others in any one accident; and
- if evidence is in the form of surety bond or a cash deposit,
the total amount shall be sixty thousand dollars ($60,000).
Drivers who receive uninsured notifications, but have
proper insurance coverage in force, should refer to the
Insurance Verification page for instructions
on how to provide proof of insurance documents to the program.
who provide fraudulent proof of insurance documents to the program may be
prosecuted according to the State of New Mexico's statutes.